11 states, 1 UT oppose Electricity Amendment Bill says AIPEF

All India Power Engineers Federation (AIPEF) on Thursday claimed that as many as 11 states and one union territory have opposed many provisions of the Electricity Amendment Bill 2020. According to AIPEF, the Electricity (Amendment) Bill 2020 to usher “so-called reforms” in the power sector threaten to violate long-cherished principles of federalism.

“11 states and one union territory have strongly opposed many clauses of draft Electricity (Amendment) Bill 2020 during a virtual discussion in power ministers’ meet (on July 3) and demanded to put it on hold,” AIPEF spokesperson V K Gupta said a statement.

The states (opposing the provisions of the bill) are Kerala, Telangana, Tamilnadu, Andhra Pradesh, West Bengal, Jharkhand, Bihar, Maharashtra, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan and Punjab. The union territory, which opposed the bill, is Puducherry.

Punjab has objected to the proposal of doing away with free power to farmers and replacing it with the direct benefit scheme. It also opposed the proposal of one selection committee for regulatory commissions as all the appointments would be made by the central government, the statement added.

Maharashtra said the bill was violative of the constitutional mandate and undermined the federal structure, it said.

ET Energy World
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button