Good news! Indian Railways plans new rail routes to connect Buddhist Pilgrimage Centres; details here

Indian Railways is all set to connect various Buddhist Pilgrimage Centres across the country! Soon, you will able to explore many iconic destinations, dedicated to Gautama Buddha with Indian Railways trains.

Recently, Railway Minister Piyush Goyal in a written reply to a question in Lok Sabha stated that works of five new railway lines have been included in the Budget, which are currently in different stages of execution to connect the Buddhist Pilgrimage Centres. The upcoming rail lines for Buddhist Pilgrimage Centres are Gaya – Bodhgaya – Chatra, Gaya – Natesar (Nalanda); Rajgir – Hisua – Tilaiya, Natesar – Islampur; Kapilvastu – Basti; Bahraich – Shravasti – Balrampur/Tulsipur and Padrauna – Kushinagar via Gorakhpur.

At present, Indian Railways runs an IRCTC Buddhist Tourist Train which covers several destinations including Gaya, Rajgir, Nalanda, Varanasi, Sarnath, Kushinagar, Lumbini, Sravasti and Agra. The Buddhist Tourist Train departs from Delhi’s Safdarjung railway station.

The departure dates for 2020 are 11, 25 January; 8, 22 February; 14, 28 March; 26 September; 10, 24 October; 7, 21 November; 5, 19 December. The tour package includes AC- First Class, AC- 2 Tier and AC- First Coupe travel.

Financial Express
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button