Govt to prepare DPR for six bullet train corridors

Railway Ministry is conducting a detailed study for 6 high-speed Rail corridors or for running bullet trains with a complete length of 4,109 kilometres, on Wednesday Piyush Goyal informed Lok Sabha.

In a written answer, the minister told the 9 corridors are Delhi–Varanasi by Noida, Agra and Kanpur, Delhi-Ahmedabad by Jaipur and Udaipur, Mumbai-Nagpur through Nasik, Mumbai-Hyderabad by Pune, Chennai-Mysore through Bangalore and Delhi-Amritsar by Chandigarh, Ludhiana, Jalandhar and Amritsar.

On Feb 23 in 2019 had initially reported about ten proposed bullet train corridors including these 6. The railways expected around Rs 10 lakh cr investment in these projects. He stated the responsibility to prepare DPR has been given to the National High-Speed Rail Corporation, that is implementing the Ahmedabad-Mumbai bullet train project.

The minister stated, “The railways is undertaking measures for improving the speed of both passenger and freight trains. Improvement in the average speed of trains is a continuous exercise for railways…At present, Mumbai-Ahmedabad High-Speed Rail corridor is the only High-Speed Rail project which is sanctioned and the same is under execution with the technical and financial cooperation from the Government of Japan.”

metro rail news
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button