Karnataka government could face Rs 30 crore penalty for missing coal goal

State-run Karnataka Power Corporation Limited (KPCL) may face a penalty of at least Rs 30 crore for failing to utilise coal stocks it had finalised with mining companies.

The state’s three major thermal power stations — Raichur (RTPS), Ballari (BTPS) and Yermarus (YTPS) — are currently shut because of poor demand from industries, and coal stocks meant for electricity generation are being underutilised. In fact, the state has a “backlog” of coal rakes that can last for at least four months, according to KPCL.

Senior officials in the energy department said KPCL had signed multiple contracts to secure coal supplies for the plants, agreeing to cart away and use a specific quantity of the rock. “If KPCL does not utilise 78 per cent of the allocated coal

ET Energy World
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button