Subhas Chandra Bose birth anniversary: Indian Railways take this BIG decision

Just three days to the 125th birth anniversary of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose, the Indian Railways on Wednesday renamed of one its oldest trains, the Howrah-Kalka Mail as ‘Netaji Express’. Railway Minister Piyush Goyal tweeted, “Netaji’s ‘prakram’ (valour) put India on the express route of freedom and development. I am thrilled to celebrate his birth anniversary with the introduction of ‘Netaji Express’.”

Started in the 19th Century as one of the early commercial passenger train services in India, the Howrah-Kalka Mail is one of the oldest and famous trains run by the Indian Railways. It runs between Howrah (Eastern Railway) and Kalka (Northern Railway) via the national capital. “Indian Railways is happy to announce the naming of 12311/12312 Howrah-Kalka Express as ‘Netaji Express’, said the Ministry of Railways.

The order to rename the train was issued on Tuesday (January 19), when the Narendra Modi-led Central government decided to celebrate Netaji’s birth anniversary on January 23 as ‘Parakram Diwas’ every year.

The announcement was made by the Union Ministry of Culture, which said, “To honour and remember Netaji’s indomitable spirit and selfless service to the nation the Government of India has decided to dedicate his birthday every year as ‘Parakram Diwas’.”

“The people of India fondly remember Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose’s unparalleled contribution to this great nation in his 125th birth anniversary.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button